Tutorial 25/11/11

Important things to remember

  •      Illustrations are labelled throughout (figure 1) etc.
  •      If I’m looking at someone and I want to show more of their work then I can put in the text (see appendix A) and then have the image I was talking about in the Index labelled Appendix A.
  •      Intro and conclusion should be more than 1 page but no more than 2 1/2 pages.
  •      Every source goes in the bibliography, regardless to if they were referenced or not.

Full draft hand in is on the 9th of December.

Final hand in date is the 10th of January.

Next week bring sketches of any ideas design wise for the dissertation.

During this tutorial I told my tutor about my manga idea for the design of my dissertation and said that I’d have to research into what paper is used and how to get some and also where the best possible place would be to print this. Then after some discussion a few other things came up for example, a narrative. Will my dissertation have a narrative as manga are stories so, will there be a main character talking throughout the dissertation? how will the text work with images since that is essentially what mangas are, text working with images etc. questions like these were brought up.

The session helped me think more critically about my design choice, would I have the time to individually make the panels for the text to be in as in manga they are usually all different. After all of the questions that arose were made clear I decided that I will still push forward with the manga design idea as I think it is relevant and will be aesthetically pleasing and interesting. Also giving me invaluable experience in the printing process of manga.

Leave a Reply

